Posted on

Italy, Travels, Adventures, and Kangaroo Shit

roo

Well I haven’t posted anything in this blog in a few months, but it’s 6:00 in the morning and I hear people waking up when I still haven’t gone to sleep yet. What the hell, might as well get some late night thoughts rolling. One of the reasons I didn’t stay active with this blog is because I spent some time studying in Italy. My time in Italy really lit a fire under my ass. It ignited a passion for traveling, and being around different cultures. As my mom says, “I’ve caught the travel bug.”

Italy was just the beginning though. I’m working on the plans for my next adventure over the Summer break. I’m not going to get money from my parents for this trip, so I’m looking to get a job abroad. The destinations at the top of my list are Australia or New Zealand. If I have to shovel kangaroo shit off the side off the road to pay for me to be there, then that’s what I’ll do (hopefully it doesn’t come down to that). I just need to make enough money while I’m there to cover my basic living expenses and travel. Then I’ll come back for my final year of college.

With that graduation date creeping up on me, people keep asking me what I want to do when I get out of college. I had always thought about it, but nothing on the “traditional career path” for my major ever made me excited to graduate. The mind-set I had, was a mind-set that a lot of college students have; that I need to squeeze every ounce of joy out of college before I have to grow up and go out to the real world. This made me sit down and think about what it is I want from this life. The conclusion I came up with is to say screw the traditional career path and take whatever path makes me the most happy. That’s when I looked into adventure travel guides. An adventure travel guide can lead people to do anything from kayaking the Nile, to hiking the Alps, to scuba diving in The Great Barrier Reef. Most of these jobs require you to commit to at least a year of work to hire you, which is why I might be shoveling kangaroo shit for my three month long Summer break before my senior year. That’s why I decided that post-graduation I’ll be going after my dream, and I’ll spend at least one year as an adventure travel guide.

Now I really do enjoy my major and I intend on pursuing a career in that field one day, but I will never have the chance to follow this dream of mine later in life. There’s going to be a mortgage, and a wife, and kids, and little league practice, and deadlines, and enough responsibilities to make my head explode. There’s no time like the present, and that applies doubly, triply and quadruply when you’re young enough to experiment with these things without throwing out the possibility of a long-term career. I don’t know if triply and quadruply are words, but you get my point. Youth+no responsibilities=freedom to try and find the thing that makes you truly happy. I’ve got the youth part covered, and once I graduate I’ll have nothing tying me down for the first time in my life. If you follow the formula, you can see that the sum of those two things will mean I can put my career on hold and explore the globe. I may not make as much money early on, but I know that when I’m an old man I’d like to look back at my early twenties and think about the great adventures I had rather than some cool car are a big TV.

The highway may get you to your final destination quicker, but there is just something so much more fulfilling about soaking in the world around you on a slow backroad.

-MK

About InsomniacsUnited

Just an American college student on a different sleep pattern than the rest of society.

What do you think about that

